What is the Idaho Enhanced Concealed Carry Weapons Permit?
On July 1, 2014, Idaho adopted a more advanced concealed carry license known today as the Idaho Enhanced Concealed Carry Permit. The license is separate from the standard Idaho concealed carry permit.
It adds additional states for reciprocity, increases the areas where you can carry, and requires a lecture on federal, state, and local laws from a state-certified attorney or a police training officer. The Idaho Enhanced Concealed Carry Weapons License is accepted by 37 States, more than any other concealed carry license to date.
What Is Idaho Constitutional Carry?
On July 1, 2020, Idaho became a Constitutional Carry state. Constitutional carry states recognize all individuals over 18 to carry a concealed carry weapon without a permit.
Constitutional carry allows any U.S. citizen from any state to carry concealed without a permit, provided they are not otherwise prohibited.
What do I need to get my concealed carry permit in Idaho?
You must attend training regardless of the Idaho Concealed Carry license you intend to apply for acceptance. The Idaho Sheriffs Association has an online course for those interested in the Idaho standard concealed carry license. You must be a resident of Idaho for six months, and pass a background check and other federal requirements.
Level 1 Firearms Training LLC has been training for the Idaho Enhanced Concealed Carry Weapons Classsince late July 2014. Their excessive drive and passion for understanding concealed carry concepts and the law shows in everything they teach
Training meets Technology at Level 1 Firearms Training which trains using Modern Gun Training Techniques, laser technologies, and an extensive focus on the student makes them the best.
Level 1 Firearms Training LLC also trains and certifies instructors nationally, ensuring you receive the best training from across the U.S.
You can take an online concealed weapons course offered by the Idaho Sheriff's Association to meet the requirement for the standard concealed weapon license. Idaho Enhanced permits require training by an Idaho Certified and approved Instructor.
You must attend at a minimum an 8-hour Idaho Enhanced Concealed License class which includes a legal presentation on Idaho Law. Many concealed carry topics must be covered during class, such as the handle a gun in a safe and responsible manner, how to safely secure your firearm, self-defense principles such as mental awareness, the after-effects of a justified shooting, how to carry correctly and shoot a minimum of 98 rounds of ammunition. There are currently no specific shooting requirements or drills, it's up to the instructor to create a course of fire that he believes is best.
The Idaho standard and enhanced concealed carry weapons permits are good for 5 years. In most instances, you can simply renew online rather than having to go in person. You do have to renew your Idaho concealed carry license 90 days before up to 90 days after its renewal date.
You can, but why would you? There's nothing cool about open carry, it's irresponsible, scares the average citizen, and announces to the criminal you're the first target to shoot at when he sees you.
There are restricted areas where open and concealed carry of a firearm is prohibited. However, Idaho has no laws regulating or preventing anyone over the age of 18 open or concealing a firearm.
No, If a homicide is the result of a person who was in fear of great bodily harm or death was not found guilty in an Idaho court, cannot be sued by the criminal's family.
For more information see Title 6 in the Idaho State statutes.
You can, but why would you? Idaho prohibits carrying a firearm while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs. Even if you are the designated driver, the temptation to "have a sip" or to simply "have one" is too great to ignore. It's best not to place yourself in that situation.
No. The use of any firearm, under any condition, is a use of deadly force. In order to justify the discharge of a firearm in Idaho, you must be able to prove you were in fear of your life. If you are truly in fear of your life, the use of deadly force to stop the immediate threat is justified. All other discharges of a firearm are subject to the use of deadly force as defined in the Idaho State Statutes.
No. You may carry a concealed carry firearm in most parts of the state. There are no background checks, firearms can be purchased from an Idaho FFL or a private individual, there is no gun registration, and there is no waiting period. You can purchase a firearm from a licensed federal firearms dealer who will then run a background check on you unless you have an Idaho Cobncealed Carry Permit in which case the background check is waived.
Idaho law allows anyone 18 years of age and older to carry a concealed firearm. There are no residency requirements. As long as you are not prohibited to carry a concealed carry gun under state or federal law you may do so as long as you follow the laws where you cannot carry.
Yes. Idaho is a Castle Doctrine state and has a "stand your ground" provision that does not require you to retreat. You can defend yourself from aggressors who clearly have an intent to cause you the loss of your life or limb.
Any intruder who enters your home by force or with intent to commit a Felony can technically be shot by the home or business owner. However, you must be able to articulate to a jury that you were in reasonable fear of your life in order to use a deadly weapon.